Python Challenge: Planning

01/01/2020

Happy New Year, Everybody!

2020 is upon us, and as I stated in a previous post; This Year I plan on participating in the #100daysofcoding Challenge and seeing it through to completion.
In this post, I'm going to write a brief overview of the resources I plan on using to take part in and complete the challenge. I don't yet have all of the details finalised on how I'm going to work this project as it is still in the beginning stages. However, this is what I have so far...

I've created a new page on the blog, specifically for this challenge, and intend on updating the page with coding examples and my progress throughout the challenge. Once this challenge has been completed, I do hope to keep this page active with challenges

Resources for the Challenge

To learn the necessary skills, I'm going to purchase a course on Udemy and learn the basic syntax, whilst creating simple programs. 
After meticulous research, I have narrowed it down to several options including;
Learn Python Programming Masterclass. Follow the Link:
https://www.udemy.com/course/python-the-complete-python-developer-course/

Python 3 Network Programming - Build 5 Network Applications
https://www.udemy.com/course/python-programming-for-real-life-networking-use/

Alongside this, I'll be using resources like, 'Code Academy' (Link below)
https://www.codecademy.com

I haven't decided which of these I'm going to be using primarily for study, however, as all I've ever wanted to be is a Network Engineer and that is the path I'm working towards. It's highly likely I'll purchase the second course which is for use in conjunction with Networking.
Udemy and Code Academy are installed on my phone, so, I'll be able to continue with practising whilst on the go. If anybody else wishes to participate in this challenge alongside me, I may create a study group for motivation and exchanging of ideas.

Within the next couple of weeks, I'll create another post with a list of possible Integrated Development Environments (IDE) for creating and testing Python code, and explain which one I have chosen to use for the challenge and why.

A few questions?

Why Learn a Programming Language?
Whilst it was possible to have a full career in IT years ago without even coming into contact with a Programming Language. Today is very different. The IoT puts the number of Network connected devices within the Billions. In 2019, that exact number was 26.66Billion. That is more than triple the amount of people that live on planet Earth. All of those Devices have been programmed with a language, making it more important than ever to learn how those devices work on a base level.

Why Python Programming?
There are many reasons to learn Python Programming. It offers an easy understanding for beginners to Programming and is a cross platform language. To put this in basic terms, it means if you create something in Linux, it can be transferred across to Windows, and it will work exactly the same.
Another reason for using Python is that it can be used for many different Applications, such as; Networking, Data Science, Education, etc.

Can I learn Python?
Anybody can learn a Programming Language. Learning anything new is difficult and takes patience. There is a big community, where you can get help and ideas from should you become stuck.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started